Kole Calhoun called out after intentionally getting hit in the head (Video)

Arizona Diamondbacks outfielder Kole Calhoun was called for interference on Monday night after intentionally sticking his head out to block a throw.

Arizona Diamondbacks right fielder Kole Calhoun was called out on a bizarre play in the fifth inning of Monday night’s game against the Colorado Rockies, appearing to intentionally stick his head out to block a throw from first to second base.

While some have argued that Calhoun was trying to duck to avoid being hit by the throw, he appears to track the ball and throw his head to the side in order to avoid the out, a strange decision to say the least.

The umpires saw right through Calhoun’s trick, calling him out and bringing the inning to a close. Diamondbacks manager Torey Lovullo, however, disagreed with the call, and got into a heated argument with the umpire before being ejected. The call, however, appeared to be the correct one, with soccer fans joking that Calhoun may have chosen the wrong sport.

Regardless of intent to interfere, Calhoun’s decision to put his head in front of the ball was bold. Had it not hit him in the helmet, the Arizona slugger could have been seriously injured or concussed.

However, he quickly shook it off, but Arizona’s best efforts were not enough. The Diamondbacks lost 3-2, with the Rockies snapping their seven-game losing streak in the process. Calhoun hit a third-inning homer, his eighth of the season, but the team could not put together a late rally.

The Diamondbacks fell to 13-17 with the loss, but will have three more chances to top Colorado over the coming days. A series win could help Arizona make up some ground in the NL West, as they now rank last in the division, but sit just a game and a half behind the Rockies for third place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *